Virtual Regional Conference on Decriminalisation of Petty Offences in Africa

14 - 16 September: Virtual Regional Conference on Decriminalisation of Petty Offences in Africa.
  • What Decriminalisation Conference
  • When Sep 14, 2020 01:00 PM to Sep 16, 2020 04:00 PM (Africa/Johannesburg / UTC200)
  • Where Virtual meeting | Zoom Webinar link: https://bit.ly/3aYHxxM
  • Web Visit external website
  • Add event to calendar iCal

The regional campaign on decriminalisation of petty offences in Africa will be holding a virtual regional conference in September 2020. The overall objective of the Conference is to provide a continental platform for a broad-based discussion and review of measures adopted to contain public emergencies and crisis, such as the novel coronavirus (COVID-19); analyse policing policies and practices adopted in response to such emergencies; and determine whether there are any linkages between these measures, their enforcement and the rights and welfare of those experiencing social marginality and other forms of social-economic disadvantage. Additionally, the Conference aims to identify regional best efforts and practices – on responding to pandemics – that are right-based in nature and promote the targeted mainstreaming of such efforts into other existing commitments to address public emergencies.

The Conference will be held over three consecutive days on 14th, 15th and 16th of September 2020, as separate sessions from 12h00 GMT (14h00 SAST, 15h00 EAT)

Kindly register in advance for this meeting.

Zoom Webinar Link: https://bit.ly/3aYHxxM

 

 

© 2019 Dullah Omar Institute | CMS Website by Juizi
Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions